Recycling Clay

anagama

I'm a high school ceramics teacher with some "clay recycling" problems and am looking for some advice. Currently, this is how I recycle our clay (a low-fire red).

- I start by drying out any scrap clay completely in small pieces... sometimes using a mallet to break down larger chunks. (dry clay seems to be less "germy" and slakes better)

- I place the clay in a large bucket and fill with water until the water line is just over the dry clay.

- I wait a couple days (sometimes more) for the clay to slake down into a mush.

- Then I skim off the excess water and scoop out the soft wet mushy clay and smear it out (a couple inches thick) onto a slate table to absorb some more moisture.

- when it firms up to a soft manageable consistency, I cut it into squares it toss it into the pugmill.

- I will use the pugmill to mix the clay (varying lengths of time from 20 minutes to an hour) and de-air it before pugging it out into nice logs.

Some problems I have been noticing as my students work with it are "shortness", surface cracking while pinching and coiling... and an overall dissatisfaction in the quality of the clay. Unfortunately, I do not have the time or luxury to "properly age" the clay, allowing water to envelope each clay particle... there just isn't time.

Am I doing something wrong that is making this happen?... is it the clay I'm starting with initially (when I get it from the manufacturer, it doesn't act this way) that doesn't like to be recycled? Is there a way to age it faster (besides the old "can of beer" trick I learned in grad school)?

I'm at a loss... and my students... aren't liking it.

I would appreciate any advice.

Thank you

Keith,

I'm a high school ceramics teacher with some "clay recycling" problems and am looking for some advice. Currently, this is how I recycle our clay (a low-fire red).