Glaze Mixes

Wilboy64

I am new to mixing glazes and wonder if the formulas I am looking at on most web posting include a base glaze formula with the colorant added to make a complete mixed glaze or if the formula must be mixed and added to a base glaze ? This is an example I copied from Central Clay,

Shino cone 9 to 12 (ox. & red.)

F4 feldspar-15

Spodumene-13

Soda ash-3

Nepheline syenite-50

Ball clay-16

EPK-3

Help please give me the right direction to follow........ New but trying hard to get it right.

Not sure what your question is. The recipe you present doesn't have an addition of a colorant.

F4 feldspar- 15

Spodumene- 13

Soda ash- 3

Nepheline syenite- 50

Ball clay- 16

EPK 3

Total 100

You should find most bases add up to 100 per cent.

Then colorants such as copper, iron, cobalt, manganese rutile, nickel, are the more common colorants. Tin is added as an opacifier.

If a recipe calls for 0.5% cobalt carbonate, that would be 1/2% or .5 grams to 100 grams. 2% of a colorant such as Rutile, would be 2 grams of weight. To mix a !000 gram container would require multiplying everything by 10. A 5 gallon bucket can hold 9000 to over 10,000 grams depending on the density of the ingredients. Wood Ash is not dense but fluffy. A five gallon bucket of wood ash would be more like 6000-7000 grams maybe.

I hop this helps. Try to read more about glazes. Take a class or workshop from someone like John Britt or Ian Curry. Follow more discussion on this forum regarding glazes.

Hope this helps.

Marcia

Another great help in understanding Glazes , is Mastering Cone 6 Glazes by John Hesselberth and Ron Roy. There is also glaze soft ware that accompanies this book.

There are many glaze software programs where you can manipulate formulas for different temperature, chemicals, etc.

Look into some of these ideas.

Marcia