My attempt at professional pottery pictures

I just got in the mail my new photo backdrop.

I already had a photo cube but the backdrops that came with it werent good at all

so i went on amazon and purchased a Calumet PVC backdrop. it was $35 but I think it was worth it.

This is my newest bottle that I did, sticking with my tree motif. I also created this custom cork and

put this broken drawer handle that I found on the end of the cork.

Please comment on how you think the back drop looks or anything i could do differently with my pottery!

Im a 17 year old potter and Im trying to learn new things everyday! :D

I am no expert at taking photographs. I use some grey material for a backdrop and the result looks very similar to yours which I think looks fine. I really like your jug and think the idea of recycling the handle is great.

I think it looks good but if you lowered the black more to bring up the contrast of the piece, it may compliment your piece more and make it stand out better. The shadow is a little strong too. Do you have 2 lights...having the lights come from the sides can reduce the shadows.

Marcia

To me it looks like the pot is too close to the backdrop. The background should fade into blackness as if there's nothing there. On your photo I can see the pot casting a shadow onto the backdrop behind it. There should be minimal shadow from the pot, and it should only be directly below the piece. When I shoot, my backdrop hangs on a rod about 6 feet behind and 5 feet above where the pot sits, creating a long curved surface. This prevents any shadows on the backdrop, and makes it easier to bring the black down lower.

You say you have a photo cube, but did you buy matching lights? Ideally you should have one on each side and one diffused from above ... also there should be no other lights on in the room. It looks like you have a pink color cast which might come from the lights.