Powdery Glaze

Zuni

I'm having a problem with Mayco dry glaze mixes. I've mixed them according to the directions. I poured glaze on a few pieces, and then went back to brushing on, after adding some gum arabic. The problem is when the glaze dries it's incredibly powdery and flakes and chips.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

I'm having a problem with Mayco dry glaze mixes. I've mixed them according to the directions. I poured glaze on a few pieces, and then went back to brushing on, after adding some gum arabic. The problem is when the glaze dries it's incredibly powdery and flakes and chips.

Thank you.

I have very little low fire glaze experience but lots of glaze experience-

Is the glaze to thick??as flaking and chips occur more when to thick?

You can add a little epson salts in warm water and when dissolved add a little to glaze to harden it up

This will make it less powdery-also are you handling the glaze ware carefully??

Mark

Thank you.

Did this happen even after you added the gum arabic? What did the manufacturer tell you? If you take a look at the Mayco MSDS they use CMC in their formulae. Here is a link to Mayco's

Non Toxic Glazes

Non Toxic Premixed & Dry Glazes see

SECTION 2: COMPOSITION/INFORMATION ON INGREDIENTS

I hope it works-

http://www.maycocolo...rmat&Itemid=182

Thank you.

You can add a little epson salts in warm water and when dissolved add a little to glaze to harden it up

Mark

Mayco has a line of cone 6 glazes. So it may not be low fire, but mid-fire.