Oil to mix with cobalt oxide and fire over glaze at 800 deg C.

Sean K

Howdy Folks, I'm new to this whole business of working with clay... but I've been a sculptor in metal, and painter, for 20 odd years.

I've been looking for techniques to do what I want on the clay and one that appeals is the old Euro style blue on white were the piece is glazed white at medium or high fire and then the blue is put on by printing. I found a book at the library the showed the process of engraving copper and then printing with cobalt oxide, mixed with an oil, onto soaped tissue paper which was then cut up and pushed onto the glazed surface and fired to about 800 deg C.

I like this technique and would like to use screens to get the 'ink' onto the tissue but I'm unsure of what oil to use as a carrier and whether anything else is added to the ink. I suppose it would also need a binder of sorts... maybe silica and a flux to get it melting at 800.

People have kind of scoffed at me and suggest using craft style 'china paints' as if the technique is too low brow for serious pottery, which I find silly as it's a traditional technique and shouldn't be any less valid than other ways of putting patterns on clay. I could go out and buy stuff but I prefer knowing what's going into a mix.

There is nothing low brow about China Paints. That is exactly the temperature range you are talking about. I am not familiar with the exact oil but it comes with China paints I had a lot of pigment files donated to the ceramics program when I was teaching. I never got involved with it then. But look into China painting info. Paul Lewing had written and excellent book on China Paints published by ACERS.

He also presented a session in Seattle at the last NCECA. China Paints are very "cutting edge" in Ceramic Arts.