Tips for airbrushing underglazes

C Newlin

Hi ho friends!
I'm beginning to explore airbrushing underglazes onto my pieces and while I'm very familiar with underglazes, I'm fairly new to airbrushing.

I'm well aware of the safety considerations regarding spraying ceramic materials - I have a mask and a nifty little homemade spray booth, so I'm good there.
I'm primarily using the airbrush to blend, so I apply the base colors first, then go back with the airbrush to soften lines.
I'm using Amaco Velvets, thinned and put through an 80 mesh screen.
Using an inexpensive airbrush from Harbor Freight double action brush that uses a little jar (as opposed to gravity feed). It also has a cup, but I've not used that.
Not sure how much to thin or sieve my underglazes, or if there is another airbrush set-up I should use.
The biggest issues seem to be keeping the particles suspended and not having a smooth, continuous stream of underglaze.
Plain old water goes through just fine.

Thanks for any tips/thoughts!

Is the brush clogging due to particle size or form the viscosity of the underglaze? If it's particles size, you could sieve through a 120  or 150 mesh and see if that works better. Pay attention to how much material doesn't go through the screen. It shouldn't be much at all, but if it is, it could change the way the underglaze melts/fuses,  or the saturation of the color. Velvets are pretty darn smooth, though, so I don't expect there to be much that you can't work through the screen. As for how much to water them down, I don't have a specific number, but as little as possible. As you add more water, they're more likely to settle out, as you're seeing. You may also want to try different size tips on your airbrush and see if that helps.

6 minutes ago, Min said:

What psi are you running at? 

Hi Min, 
It looks like it's set at 55.
I had thought it might be working hard to keep pressure up.
It's one of those $80 Harbor Freight specials - all I can afford at the moment.