Cress kiln fx23, 240, 25amp

Hi!  I am (hopefully) purchasing a used cress kiln fx23, 240, 25 amp, model 7912 today. Automatic not digital. It comes with it's own cord and the special plug needed to wire it. 

I would only be using this occasionally at first, then possibly once a month. 

Can anyone give me an idea how much electric it would cost to run through one whole cycle? And what size breaker would be best?  I have 30amp breakers and new heavy duty 220 cord wire.

And I have never used a kiln before...so if anyone can recommend a good YouTube channel for learning I would love that! 

Thanks!

Welcome to the Forum, Mermaid...Your cost per firing depends on your cost for electricity per kilowatt -hour. If you were to run the kiln at full power for 9 hours at 20 cents per Kw-hr, it would cost about $11. You won't be doing that because your firing schedule is a gradual build-up to full power. 25 amps x 240 volts = 6000 watts = 6Kw x 9hours =54KW-hrs x$.20=$10,80. The 30 amp breaker should be adequate. You might be able to get a user's manual from Cress where you will find their instructions for operating the kiln manually. Hope this helps and good luck on your journey into the mud!

JohnnyK

Make sure that your 220 wire is sized appropriately to handle the amperage flowing through it. Just because a dryer runs off 220 does not mean you can plug right into that receptacle with your kiln.

The temperature you are going to be firing to, the distance the outlet is from your main panel, and the amperage of the device are the 3 factors that will determine what size wire you need. For example, my electric oval kiln called for a #8 wire, but because I was over 40' from my main panel, I needed to go down to a #6 wire. There are plenty of charts online to break this down for you, and cress would surely answer any questions you will have, and the information may be in the manual (if it comes with one?).