Shrinkage isn't consistent

So I've got some strange things happening. I had a big order coming up for beer mugs, so I did a shrinkage test in a kiln that was mostly empty. (Probably 20 pieces) it's the big oval skutt kiln so it can fit around 150 mugs. I did a slow cool at 100 degrees an hour down to 1900. 

So my pieces came out and they were slightly smaller (>1 oz) than what I wanted so I threw them 1/8" taller. Wet size 5 3/8" H x 4 1/4" W. Loaded the kiln with around 120 pieces and shortened the cool down to 100° an hour until 2000°. Witness cones tell me it was slightly cooler, I shortened the cool down because it seemed to cause the kiln to achieve slightly over cone 6.  

So I take out the mugs, and they shrunk more this firing. How is that possible? I used a throwing gauge to make sure they were uniform. They shrunk more in width this time and ended up the same height as the ones that were 1/8 shorter. Any input would be great, I'm newish to pottery and live far away from any large studio. Sorry it was so long I just tried to give all the info you would need.

I'm wondering if because I pulled the clay slightly larger resulting in slightly thinner walls that it caused it to shrink more?

Clay shrinks differently from the diameter to the height .That is its different in different dimensions . My suggestion is when you are talking to your customers you mention a variation to sizes-as its next to impossible to have them all be one exact size no matter how you measured with a  throwing stick. Do yourself a BIG favored learn to work with  some variation-as thats what makes for hand made work. Thats the reason its stands out from mass produced work-embrace this fact.If they need factory work thats slip cast within tight size dimensions thats not your job.

I could tell you all the variables but I always ask for at least a 1/4 to 1/2 inch variation depending on the forms to any order.