Veegum T

I am new to pottery and this is my first post. I did do a search but couldn't find any answer that applied to the problem I am having which is crawl and adding veegum t. The glaze is Potters Choice PC34 Light Sepia in a 5 gallon container for dipping. . Amaco suggested adding 4% veegum t but I see most manufactures say 1/2 or 3/4 of 1%. Any thoughts what is best and also how to mix it ?

Thanks,Dave

Hi Neil ,thanks for the reply. The crawling happens during the glaze firing. I have been using Standard clay 182 and 240 and firing at cone 6. I am very careful the clean the bisque pieces and wear latex gloves when cleaning and glazing. I have read that glaze application can cause crawl. I have only used dipping glaze twice. Could the problem be that the glaze is too thick? The mixing directions are a little vague for a beginner.

Dave

It does not make sense to me to add a clay-like (smectite) material to something that is already crawling.  In fact, it seems like it would make the problem worse because clay is a high-alumina source.  Alumina is the single ingredient in ceramics with the highest surface tension and highest melt viscosity.  In fact, if you want to reduce crawling, replacing or eliminating alumina-rich glaze ingredients is a great place to start.

Applying glaze thickly does not, in and of itself, cause crawling.  It only increases the chances that a glaze whose recipe was already crawl-prone will manifest this trait.  Sometimes crawly glazes do not crawl, even though they will gladly do this when conditions are right.  For example, a mug with the same glaze applied all over and looks fine after firing, except in the right angles inside the cup at the bottom, where glaze runs down and gathers in the melt, and some crawling occurs.

Hard to say much more unless you know the glaze recipe (and the clay body recipe as well if possible!) and can make some adjustment.