Trying to raise the melting point of a commercial glaze

Elmoclayman

Hey all,

New to trying to adjust and mess with a store bought glaze.  I have a premixed Cone 10 turquoise glaze that I have used for over 15 years that I purchase from my local clay supplier, (Laguna Clay).  I usually fire in a reduction to the same temp and recently the color has been burning out and running horribly.  I am guessing they changed the formula but did not say anything.  What can I add to the Matte glaze to raise the melting point of the glaze?  Or at least stop the running?

Glazes are my weak point, whether I have been intimidated by them or just plain too lazy to really understand them.  So any help would be great.

Edited by Elmoclayman

Yes!  That's the glaze I'm having trouble with.  Reduction has been the same each firing.  I was hoping there was some material that would increase the melting point.  Like I said, I have no knowledge of how to mix glazes or what materials do what.  I tried adding silica to the glaze because Google told me that it would raise the temp, but I think it did the opposite. ;-)

Okay, so in a very simplified nutshell a glaze at any temperature will have 3 main components. Silica (think of this as the bones of a glaze), Alumina (think of this as the flesh of a glaze) and Flux(es) (think of this as the blood of a glaze). All glazes, regardless of cone or firing method, will be comprised of these components. Fluxes are almost always used in combination with other fluxes, ie a glaze will have more than one flux. Silica can be sourced in a glaze as silica and it's also in feldspars etc, a good source of alumina is kaolin or ball clay. 

The higher the cone firing the less fluxes are needed, so by definition there will be room for more alumina and silica in higher firing glazes than lower firing ones. Sounds like your glaze is over-fluxed for the cone you are firing it too.