Kiln Room Smoke

Kktbs23

Hi all!

I'm relatively new to the glaze and firing world and could use some insight. I have fired my Skutt Kiln km-818 (has only been fired 32 times) so far with no incident. I do not have a vent for it but it is located in a decently ventilated space. During any previous firings I have noticed very minimal "smoke" or haze accumulate in the room during the burn out phase of a glaze firing. However, today I went to do a glaze fire and went to check the kiln and at 523°F there was a noticeable amount of smoke/haze accumulated which was weird as I had never seen that much. So I immediately shut off the firing cycle because I was unsure what the deal was. My question, is what gives? I was testing out new glazes that I hadn't tried before in this firing and thought maybe that could have something to do with it? I used Mayco's cobblestone glaze on a handful of pieces and then put wax resist over the Cobblestone glaze and thought maybe that could be the culprit? Although it seems unlikely something like that could cause such noticeable smoke accumulation.. I'm genuinely perplexed how to proceed with the trying to fire this batch again and would love any insight anyone has. Thank you in advance! 

I'm sure others will tell you the same, but you definitely want to vent it or vent the room. If there's smoke along with it, that in itself is harmful to breathe, and the other things that come along with it that you don't see are also not very pleasant. 

In regards to what was causing the smoke, it's hard to tell. At 523°F you'd be past the point of it likely being any moisture or anything burning out of the glazes. It could be the wax resist, or some other element of the glazes. I would of course double check it's surroundings, and maybe even double check inside the control box just to be safe. 

5 minutes ago, cadenrank said: