Rare metals in glazes

Joe LS

This is my first post here, and with a few narrow exceptions I am new to ceramics. My background is in isotope chemistry and paleontology, both of which have little but not no overlap with ceramics.

I have two questions. First, has anyone here experimented with using rare metals in glazes. I'm sure that there are some discussions here of silver, gold, and platinum (although I could not find them), and am playing with silver (see attached pic, where I tried to use silver to create the effect of a starry night with an aurora), but what I'm really interested in is even rarer metals: especially ruthenium, rhenium, iridium, and osmium. None of these metals will melt, even at cone 10, but all produce volatile (and toxic) oxides at  much lower temperatures-- at room temperature in the case of osmium powder. The oxides are not so toxic that they cannot be safely removed with a good ventilation system, and once out in the air they quickly form insoluble complexes that render them harmless. What I'm wondering is whether, rather than being released, some of the oxides will dissolve in a molten glaze, and if so if there is a glaze material that is particularly good at this. Whatever it is must have a fairly low melting point, as the metal oxides decompose back to metal and oxygen at higher temps.

My second question is whether anyone has tried electrolysis of molten glazes during firing? I tried it with silver, to see if I could get silver crystals to grow in the glaze. It didn't work. But it seems like something that could be used to do things like control  color by controlling the oxidation state of metals.

These are open ended questions. I'm interested in comments and discussion from and with like minded people. Thanks

starrynight.jpg