Anabaptist Ceramics Ca. 1550-1700

cstoesz

Hi, I am looking for information on the Anabaptist ceramic industry in Europe ca. 1550-1700 centred in Moravia and Boheimia. At times also known as Habaner ceramics. Some of the descendants of these people live in the USA and Canada and are known as Hutterites. These Anabaptists They created new styles and techniques which I am interested in. I am coming at this from a history perspective as I have no experience in ceramics myself. I would be interested in knowing details about what these techniques were. They began using different materials to produce different colors, so what materials would have been used? Characteristic colours for the glaze were blue, white, yellow and green. For the decoration they used yellow, green, violet, blue and black they used for contour. in the 1600s Where did they get these materials from? How did they fire the items? I would be open to advise, or direction to books, journals or other experts in the field. Thanx for your help!

Hi, I am looking for information on the Anabaptist ceramic industry in Europe ca. 1550-1700 centred in Moravia and Boheimia. At times also known as Habaner ceramics. Some of the descendants of these people live in the USA and Canada and are known as Hutterites. These Anabaptists They created new styles and techniques which I am interested in. I am coming at this from a history perspective as I have no experience in ceramics myself. I would be interested in knowing details about what these techniques were. They began using different materials to produce different colors, so what materials would have been used? Characteristic colours for the glaze were blue, white, yellow and green. For the decoration they used yellow, green, violet, blue and black they used for contour. in the 1600s Where did they get these materials from? How did they fire the items? I would be open to advise, or direction to books, journals or other experts in the field. Thanx for your help!

Hello