Newbie Here. Question About Cones

hi everyone.

super duper newbie here.

i have a cone 6 clay. i thought you were supposed to bisque it at cone 6. im told to bisque it at cone 05?

i dont understand that.

Hi missholly:

You certainly have a season-appropriate name smile.gif . Welcome aboard. It has been my experience that the cone number of a clay is the point at which the clay body vitirfies. I have no idea why it was suggested that you should bisque fire it at cone 5. I've bisqued and fired at cone 6 and have been happy with the results. I am sure that if there is a reason to fire at cone 5 that someone here with more experience than I will come on and explalin. One of the things I like about this forum is that there really are highlevel expeets in just about any subject related to pottery.

Regards,

Charles

Seasoned warrior is right that the Cone range number on the clay is the temperature where it is mature

or vitrifies.

I was taught the reason for bisque firing at anywhere between Cone 010 and Cone 04 was to get rid of

impurities and gases that could affect the outcome of your higher glaze firing.

Bisque firing should be slow.

A recommended temperature to bisque at is often in the clay catalog information section.

However, as you will learn with pottery ... it all depends on the next thing you want to do.

Not everyone bisques to the same temperature and many don't bisque fire at all.

There are glaze recipes formatted to be used on dry clay then once fired.

Many people once fire because they don't glaze at all

Others once fire because the final product is non functional, so perfect fit is not crucial.

Porcelain people fire high first, then low fire glazes.

Some bisque fire at a medium rate, others swear it has to be super slow.

Most bisque between Cone 04 to Cone 08 depending on how porous they want the results.

The more porous the clay the more glaze it holds and if you do raku or pit firing, some will swear all those