Maximum Thickness/buildup For Slip Casting

Hi, I am new to slip casting, firing slip cast, etc and hope I can get help here with a few beginner questions.

I am making a model of a giraffe and want to know what the best method to approach slip casting this form. The body of the giraffe will be hollow after pouring out the un-absorbed slip from the plaster mould but I am worried about the neck and head. The neck will be about 1.5" x 1" x 7" and the head about 1.5" x 1" x 2.5".

Should I try to cast this part of the body solid or hollow as the body?

Is there a safe guideline or ideal thickness for the walls if not making these parts solid?

Is this controllable besides by how much (dwell?) time the slip is left in the mould?

Are there tips that anyone can share to casting this shape or firing tips if making it solid? I have read about firing thicker pieces but I understand that this really should be avoided for the known reasons.

Thanks for any ideas, help, recommendations, etc!

Edward Jones

at 1" thick, i think you'll be ok casting those parts attached to the body.  any thinner than this is when you start getting into viscosity issues where the legs absorb too much water and "gunk" up, making them solid or semi-solid with a little air pocket in the center.

another option would be to make those appendages separate components and cast them separate, then join together when leather hard.  It's really hard to give advice on casting the whole form because there are too many factors like slip viscosity, plaster thickness, plaster dryness, etc that will play in how it actually works out.  my best suggestion is to make it solid, cast it in plaster, then take a positive and cut it up and make another set of molds from that in parts.

Thanks for your help. I will give it a shot as is and see what happens.