Clay bloating - IMCO Stoneware 1c

Hello everyone -- just wanted to post here some experiences I've had and see if anyone has some recommendations and/or similar troubles.

I've been working with IMCO Stoneware 1-C for a few months now, loving it as a mid-firing stoneware (texture and color).

However, when I fire it to the advertised maturation temperature of ^6, I see a good bit of bloating.

At ^5 everything seems fine.

To cover the normal basic troubleshooting, I've noticed bloating between ^5 and ^6 considering:

• Same clay batch and even BAG
  • Same bisque firing
  • No carbon coring noticeable when broken open
  • Pyrometric cones and digital readouts confirming temperature
  • Same glaze treatments
  • Pieces were identical [or as close as possible], part of the same batch

I took photos of the cones and some of the bloated vs non-bloated pieces. Not sure if they would help, but can post. I also dropped IMCO an e-mail to see if anyone has had similar issues.

My main issue is that the glazes I have available mature a little better at ^6 than ^5, and if I can't nail this down then I may have to switch clay bodies.

Any thoughts?

Best,

-- MrE

I've never worked with that particular IMCO body, but I would call them up since I've never had much luck e-mailing them - and talk to Eric Struck....he should be able to help you with your questions.

What is your firing schedule for both bisque and glaze? Many times, a change here will solve something like this - like slowing it down or holding during bisque to fully burn out the carbon. I know that Stoneware 1c is a particularly fine clay body made for uber vitreous pottery - so getting that carbon out will take slightly more time than a more porous body.

I would personally try tweaking the firing first, but I would also try out some of their other clay bodies since they carry so many great clays. Perhaps the 50/50 mix or Navajo Wheel might work for you.