Creating a thick, transparent glaze

Stuey88

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to glazing... I'm wondering whether it is possible to make a perfectly TRANSPARENT glaze up to AN INCH THICK. A friend of mine (equally inexperienced in glazing) tried a series of recipes, but either through under-firing or something else, they remained fairly opaque.

I was hoping that someone knows of a successful recipe for making such a thick transparent glaze, and the firing procedure involved. Any help on the matter would be really appreciated.

Stu.

I am not a glaze genius, but the properties of light itself would make this a daunting task. I would guess you would have to have every inch of this glaze so perfect and consistent that a light beam could go straight through it without any bouncing or reflecting.

Out of shear curiosity ... Why?

Guest JBaymore

Matching the reversible Coefficient of Thermal Expansion to the underlying clay body is the first part of the "technical hurdles" you are going to face. With a really thick layer of glaze like that, it is going to be imperative that it and the clay body contract at the same rate once the glaze liquid has frozen. Otherwise the compression from the glaze is likely to crack the body (unless it too is massively thick) or the glaze is going to craze and blow your "clear" qualities.

As a general comment here.... it is going to require a much longer firing cycle than that appropriate for thinner coatings of glazes. You will need to give time for all of the outgassing and then the tiny bubbles to rise to the surface and disburse. This is usually called "fining out"....a glassblowers teerm.

I'm with Chris.... why?

best,

.............john

Thanks for the replies,The reason I need such a thick, transparent layer is rather difficult to explain without giving a 2 page report with graphs and figures... In short, the glaze is not filling some aesthetic, artistic need. It's purpose is more physics-based.