Bone Dry Clay Quandry

blink.gifA year and a half ago I became ill and was no longer able to work in my studio. I've been a clay artist for over 25 years and have missed my "mud" terribly. Fortunately, at the moment, I am reestablishing my studio and am very excited about getting back into the part of my life that is creative. During this last year and a half, many boxes of clay (low fire, red, white, some raku, etc.) have been drying up almost as quickly as I have been. Presently, I can no longer do very strenuous work or lift heavy weights. So, I will do anything and everything possible for as long as possible. In the meantime, these boxes are staring at me and I don't know what to do. There is too much to work by hand and I don't have a pugger. Is it possible to use these bone hard 25 lb. blocks of clay in sculpture, carving, fragments, etc.? Any ideas you may have would be most appreciated. Thanks, and thank you Ceramic Arts Daily for this wonderful forum.

Sylvia Rawley

Get those boxes of clay out of range of your eyes!!

Why don't you just use the blocks to build a cool, multi-colored clay wall in your yard?

Plant some ivy in the cracks and water it some. Might be interesting.

Clay is cheap.

Your back, your wrists, your health and your mind are worth more than it is.

After all the work you have done getting your studio ready, you deserve a gift of fresh, soft clay.

Lovely, friendly clay to make your life easier ...

Enjoy!

Chris

Get those boxes of clay out of range of your eyes!!

Why don't you just use the blocks to build a cool, multi-colored clay wall in your yard?

Plant some ivy in the cracks and water it some. Might be interesting.

Clay is cheap.

Your back, your wrists, your health and your mind are worth more than it is.

After all the work you have done getting your studio ready, you deserve a gift of fresh, soft clay.

Lovely, friendly clay to make your life easier ...

Enjoy!

Chris