Vanadium and food safety?

DanG

I was told a body stain I am wanting to use is food safe when fired. I have never used Vanadium before and although I understand its toxic in its unfired state, I was wondering what the feeling is about using it in a Zirconium stain formula?

Its from Walker Ceramics in Melbourne:

FW5307 Deep Sky Blue - V Zr (Vanadium, Zirconium dioxide)

This is another stain possibilty:

FW5359 Lavender - Co Cr Sn Zn (Cobalt oxide, Chromium oxide, Tin Oxide, Zinc oxide)

How does this one compare to the Vanadium in terms of food safety?

Is Vanadiuim any more toxic than using Cobalt?

With thanks,

Dan

You don't say what temp you are firing to. I am in the U.S.A. and use Mason and Spectrum stains. It's my understanding from their literature that zirconium encapsulated stains are food safe when fired properly. Please be aware that the cobalt is a heavy metal and can leech if fired incorrectly. Your supply company should have a hot line or customer service that will answer your questions.

P.S. I just went over to the Walker site. These stains look like the equivalent of Mason Stains. I personally would have no problem using them. Just be sure to follow the information guidelines provided.

I am using them as a body stain in casting slip called MFQ (mid fire quartz). Glaze firing will probably be cone 4 to 5. I havent had a chance to test this in the kiln yet but I will be aiming as high as I can to achieve full vitirification.

The funny thing is that I can find NO official information line, no one who can certify these are food safe and theres no official advice on the matter here in Australia.. Its been very frustrating! I have met with some stain manufacters and thier customer relations know nothing whatsoever in relation to food saftey.. he had to write to a former boss who gave me the thumbs up but I still cant get any kind of official certification of saftey.