Yikes! Glaze Removal ?

PetrosV

Hi,

I want to take an old tile and get the glaze off of it or as much of it as possible. I have no prior ceramic experience. (your laughing right?) I assume it is not possible but I was reading

about some mistake a low fire glaze put in a high temp shelf and the glaze ran off. So can I put a majolica tile (100 years old?) into a kiln and tilt it in some pan to catch glaze and expect at least some of the glaze to run off?

Having no idea what cone it was fired at (I assume cone is temp) what will happen if it goes into the hottest kiln possible, could the tile crack ?

I also wonder is there any chemical process that would eat the glaze without eating the tile. It's glass right?

How about taking a torch to the tile surface? (probably not hot enough unless it's something for 4" steel right?)

Thanks for any info you can provide - probably the least discussed topic in all ceramic arts right?

Well, your questions certainly woke us all up!

If you put the tile into a high firing kiln you will probably melt the tile along with the glaze.

Not all clays are meant to be fired that high.

My question to you ... Why?

Why are you trying to do this ... Do you like the tile but dislike the glaze?

Maybe there is an easier way to reach your goal.

Do not try to remove the glaze, there is no way this would turn out well.

Three options I can think of:

#1. Try over glazing it (talk to a potter with experience over glazing and get their help).

#2. Make a plaster cast or press mold of the tile, and make a new one.

#3. Find the maker of the tile and go on line and and see if they make one you like, or if there any on e-bay for sale.

Well, your questions certainly woke us all up!

If you put the tile into a high firing kiln you will probably melt the tile along with the glaze.

Not all clays are meant to be fired that high.

My question to you ... Why?

Why are you trying to do this ... Do you like the tile but dislike the glaze?