Help With Older Cress Kiln

MarkS

I am looking for some help with a older Cress kiln. It is a model FX-27P with the Kiln Sitter and Firemate Speed Control. As I understand it the speed control determines what percentage of total power is going to the elements over time. At the slowest speed it ramps up about 10%/75 minutes, at med. slow its 10%/45 min. and so on. The manual says to start at "0" and use a slow speed for bisque firing hand turned ware. It really doesn't go into much more detail. I did a ^6 glaze firing this weekend at med-slow speed and it took about 11+ hours.

So I'm looking for some practical advice as to how I need to be using the settings for best results - either from personal experience or just ideas.

Thanks!

I've been using a Cress FX-27P with a Kiln Sitter for 25 years. The only time I ever use slow speed is when I have sculpture pieces and want to make sure they are truly dry before firing bisque. Sometimes the clay thickness isn't as even as I'd like so I lean towards the safe side. If you are throwing pots and know they are dry you can start at fast speed, although I usually use medium.

My instruction manual says to start at the number one, leave the lid propped open for the first hour or so, ALWAYS leave the top peekhole open throughout the firing. That's pretty much what I do. Since I got a digital Skutt, I mostly use it now for firing bisque (cone 06 to 04), but when I have a lot of glaze work it takes the overflow and fires to cone 5 - 6 without a problem.