Crystalline Glazes Anyone?

dorie

Hi,

Im somewhat new to Crystalline glazes and wonder, is anyone using crystallines or have you in the past,?

I've had some very fun results lately and can't always explain the why. I'm reading and researching every day, firing at least weekly... and find them just facinating.

Thanks, Dorie

I did my MFA thesis on crystalline glazes back in 1973. I found them fascinating as well. But after a while I moved on to other fascinating things. I did a lot of research in the basement of the ceramic engineering building library at UI in Champaign Urbana. There had been a lot of research on crystalline glazes around the early 20th century there. I found recipes and firing schedules and descriptions of shapes of crystals. I also discovered Adelaide Robineau and found interviews with her in Ladies Home Journal from 1915 in UI library. That was fun research too.

I had an interesting visit with a collector in Chicago who had some pieces in her collection that had curly-cue form formed crystals by a famous pottery couple. I'll remember their names tomorrow maybe. It was a husband and wife team who taught Beatrice Wood. I have a book about them, but I am on the road at the moment.

I experimented with the firing schedule as well as colors from some rare earths that I got from the chemistry department. They are fun and mesmerizing.

Marcia

Marcia,

I love your work and had no idea it also includes experience & research with crystalline glazes. Amamzing!

In my next cone 9.5 firing this wk, I am attempting for the 1st time to grow halos. But I am frustrated by too many crystals. Although beautiful, they are stacked on top of one another and I have very little background color. Trying for more background, I am planning to decreasing the zinx oxide by 1% in my base glaze. What is your opinion on that?

And do you have any suggestions concerning halos? I was guessing in my 4 hr. hold @2050, I'd ramp up & down the temp 4 times/1 hr each.