Basic Cone 5 Clay Body Recipe

earthawk

Found a really good deal on 200 lbs of Kentucky ball clay ($4!)- now for the work. I am new to making my own clay body, so I'm looking for some suggested recipes. What has worked for you? I work on the wheel and handbuild, I have an electric kiln that I usually fire to cone 5. I am interested in working with low fire temps. as well.

Which Kentucky ball clay?

For starters, most ball clays have high shrinkage (compared to other clays) that can be a problem depending on how you form them and what you make form them. That is the down side. The up side is they also have a LOT of plasticity..

FWIW you won't be able to make a clay body that matures at cone 5 out of most bagged dry commercial clays. Most have firing temperatures up in the cone 20~ cone 30 range. In order to make the clay body mature at cone 5 you will have to add flux to your blend of clays. Then once you have enough flux in there you may have to add silica to adjust the rate of expansion so that glazes will fit. It takes some work but it can be quite educational.

I would recommend as a starting point "The potters complete book of clay and glazes"by James Chappel and "mastering cone 6 glazes" by John Hesselberth and Ron Roy.

Here are two ^6 recipes for hand building. They have been used for outdoor architectural work. Linda uses glazes on that body. Daley doesn't use glazes..just the bare clay.

Bill Daley's Body ^6 tight Clay Body

Ball Clay 13.33%

Cedar Hts Red Art 40

Fire Clay 20

Newman Red Clay 26.67

Barium Carbonate 1% dissolve in water

Grog 10%

Linda Blossom' ^6 Clay Body

Hawthorne Fire Clay 35

OM #4 Ball Clay 20

Newman Red 20

Fine Grog 20

Silica 200 mesh 15

G200 Feldspar 10

to glaze green use .5% vee gum in glaze

Marcia