Cannot See Witness Cones

I have a Skutt electric kiln that I purchased from another potter.  I have such a hard time seeing the cones during firing. It is just too bright and I cannot make out the shape.

The kiln is reading low as the witness cones are coming out with only the first (lowest) cone bent. We are trying to fire at cone 6 and we are consistently getting a cone reading of 5 or maybe 5.5 when computer is set to cone six.

Does anyone else have trouble with seeing the cones ... if so, what have you done to correct the issue?

I am just starting out and have been using the potters choice high fire glazes. they are rated for cone 5-6.  I am afraid to set my kiln to 7 to accommodate for the lack of firing temp until I can see the cones and have better idea of what is actually happening inside the kiln.

I use a high intensity LED flashlight to view the cones. (TechLite lumen master) You can Google the name to get more info. I also made a video showing the results with the flashlight. In the video cone 9 is on the left starting to bend.

I posted this info once before but no one responded. I have a friend that also uses the TechLite.

Aloha,

http://www.flickr.com/photos/67879015@N05/6698264613

The kiln is reading low as the witness cones are coming out with only the first (lowest) cone bent. We are trying to fire at cone 6 and we are consistently getting a cone reading of 5 or maybe 5.5 when computer is set to cone six.

What is stopping you from setting your computer to go to cone 7? Or maybe even ~7.5 and see what happens?

I have used cones only few times (anagama and my gas kiln) and you are right, they are not easy to see. Get yourself a pair of gas welding goggles as recommended before. If I recall, cones needed little bit space so there is nothing immediately behind them. Make sure you can see them well from the peep hole before you fire up the kiln. Too close to the peep hole will not help you to see them better.