Vegas Red Glaze Coming Out Transparent

I am a high school ceramics teacher (this is my first year doing  ceramics in 6 years after a transfer within my district) so I am relearning everything about ceramcis, and kiln firing is very new for me. The school has a Geil gas kiln. I am (attempting) cone 10 reduction firing and I can not get Vegas Red to come out red. One piece came out transparent (middlish-front of the kiln). There were a couple that were towards the bottom back of the kiln that had some red come out. I am following a schedule I found in a notebook from the previous teacher. It fires around 12 hours.  The glaze is the premixed glaze from aardvark.

I hope this is enough information to help me out I am not sure if I am getting into reduction properly or not. Any help would be great, if I need to provide more information please let me know. Like I said this is new for me and trying to figure it all out.

Thanks,

Michael

Assuming Vegas Red is a copper red, that white to transparent result generally is a sign of more oxidation during firing and not enough reduction.  Copper reds like reduction; copper reds also fume during firing.  I've had my best results using copper reds on interiors where the fumes tend to keep inside the pot. 

Thank you for the reply @bciskepottry

Assuming Vegas Red is a copper red, that white to transparent result generally is a sign of more oxidation during firing and not enough reduction.  Copper reds like reduction; copper reds also fume during firing.  I've had my best results using copper reds on interiors where the fumes tend to keep inside the pot.

Geil is very  helpful to users.  contact them or perhaps Tom Coleman, another in the long list of very helpful people.  the Vegas Red is his formula.  see the 2010 cad discussion re Vegas red and read the comments below the article.  tom answered someone about the firing schedule.