Have You Ever Turned A Pot Upside Down To Inspect It Without Checking To See What Was In It First? Tell Us About It! | September 11, 2013

Oh, yes. I was visiting the home of a potter friend for the first time. I picked up a large vase and flipped it over. Unfortunately, it was full of driveway salt.

An even better story was the time I saw someone flip over a candlestick to inspect the bottom. It was actually holding a lit candle which set the tablecloth on fire.

Yea, been there done that. As a beginning student I went to buy some supplies and on the counter was a coffee mug. Yea, you guessed it, full of coffee and over she went.

What gets me is that people come into my shop or at a show and these folks know nothing about anything pottery and look at the bottom of a piece then get a  a dumb look on their faces as if there was going to be a message from God under there, that's not there.

Wyndham

I did this today.  Our church has a small thrift shop where we sell donated items very cheap then give the money to local organizations such as the Food Pantry.  I was putting out items on a table and picked up a small cream pitcher.  " Now this doesn't look Chin....se" I could tell it was from a wood firing, beautiful glaze on top, and vertical markings of an oxide.  Being a curious potter I turned it over.  Two very distinct potters marks Gary Hatcher & Daphne R. Hatcher of Pine Mills Pottery which is about 25 miles west of me.   I went inside and started to scan all of the shelves in the kitchen ware room.  Yep, it was there the matching sugar bowl with spoon.  They both came home with me, I really admire Gary's work. 

it was not a what that was inside, it was a "Who".  who would put a person's ashes in a tiny fish?

Seriously???

During communion this morning, I had a driving desire to ask the pastor to hold the chalice up higher so I could see the signature.  I resisted the impulse...

Alice

Aren't the chalices metal?

• 1 month later...