Shiny Gold Or Opalescent White Glaze For Electric Kiln

CKA

I am looking for a ^6 gold metalic or white opalescent glaze for some Christmas ornaments I'm making. Amaco's Potters Choice line has a Saturation Gold, and 2 new ones called Light Sepia and Toasted Beige, That look like good possibilities But it's hard to see what they really look like from the little samples you can see online. Has anyone used these? OR Does anyone have a ^6 recipe for what I'm looking for (electric kiln).

I don't know these glazes, but just wanted to recommend another lower firing where

you could apply lustres for opalescent or gold finishes.

The clay I have used for these ornaments is a smooth white stone ware that I bisque fire to ^07 and glaze to ^6. Can I fire it at a lower cone, or do I need to use a low fire clay. I am VERY new at glazing and firing in my own kiln. I have been using the same clay and glazes from the public studio where, I learned, so everything is pretty much the same. I haven't done too much experimenting.

I am looking for a ^6 gold metalic or white opalescent glaze for some Christmas ornaments I'm making. Amaco's Potters Choice line has a Saturation Gold, and 2 new ones called Light Sepia and Toasted Beige, That look like good possibilities But it's hard to see what they really look like from the little samples you can see online. Has anyone used these? OR Does anyone have a ^6 recipe for what I'm looking for (electric kiln).

About two years ago we tried the Saturation Gold, hoping to get some nice gold rims on mugs and bowls. After a few firings, we found we could not get a decent gold color, and certainly not the even gold that they show in their very small picture. Most of the saturation gold turned out black, or blackish, with an occasional goldish streak here and there. It was an interesting effect, but not the GOLD we were looking for.