Looking for help firing old decals

Hello! I recently got a bunch of older decals from someone who was clearing out their collection. He said fire to Cone 018 - 016. I scoured the internet trying to figure out more info on speed, temps, etc., and decided to go with a Slow Cone 018 and figured I could go hotter (or faster?) if needed. (I bisque fired to Cone 06 or so and glazed to a hot Cone 5 with a 30 minute hold prior to this firing.)

They came out okay, but a couple weird things:

-the texture is more rough/brittle to touch than I expected. I had imagined it would just sort of melt into the glaze, but there's a definite rough feel to some of the pieces where the decal was placed that isn't awful, but isn't ideal. Is that normal? I've never used decals before but it doesn't seem right based on what I've seen/touched in shops etc.

-in some areas you can see the outline of the decal paper itself? like, if you look closely, you can see the shape I cut out (mostly on the dark green coaster). Is this due to the glaze color underneath, or could it be underfired?

Anyhoo I guess my question for anyone who has decal experience/has used vintage decals is- do we think a hotter firing and/or faster firing could resolve any of these issues? I'm worried about things burning off and had read somewhere that decal firings should be slow which is why I went with the original settings I chose. Or is it possible the decals feel brittle or show the cut out shape because they're just old? And maybe I should just resign myself to putting them on things where people won't really care if the texture is off? I was already planning on keeping them off of anything food would touch so wouldn't really be hard to do this. 

Thanks so much!

file (2).jpg

file (3).jpg

file (4).jpg