Cone Different Top To Bottom

Hello,

I just got a new (used) kiln and am hoping to get some help as I am new to operating kilns. The kiln is a Skutt KM1227 with a vent. I got it all set up and fired it yesterday at 04 medium speed with just the shelves, posts and cones to test it out. I mostly do time consuming sculpture and didn't want to put anything in it without knowing if it was working right. It seemed like it was firing correctly, I followed the ramp in the manual and it seemed the same. The only problem is it seems to be about a cone cooler near the bottom of the kiln then at the top. It was just a little hotter than 04 at the top and about 05 at the bottom. Could it be caused by an old element? All of the elements are getting hot but I don't know how to tell if they need to be replaced anyway. If I used it the way it's firing now will it cause problems?

Thank you for your help!

This is fairly standard for a regular cone firing.

Most electric kilns cool quickly through the bottom and top.

There are ways to adjust and compensate for it.

If you control cool ... or fire down ...You can achieve more even results.

You can hold at the top temp for ten minutes to get the bottom hotter but this will

also heat up the center ... Sometimes all you want is for the whole kiln to hit the

right temp and a little hotter in the center is not critical.

Some people add more insulation to the outside to slow cooling and keep the heat in

the bottom and top.

Most of the time getting to temp is the most important part and a little over is not as bad

as a little under.

But ... You might need bang on temps in which case I would recommend firing down as

well as up. There should be a program for this in your manual.

My maunal says

Controlled Cooling