Is Canvas well just CANVAS?

Okay I KNOW this is a total newbie question but.... is canvas just canvas or is there a special type for pottery? I ask because I have seen marine canvas, canvas duck and just plain canvas used to describe the canvas used in people's ceramic studios. I have also read that some use old sheets, jeans, etc. I tried an old sheet much too stretchy to hand roll out clay had horrible time with wrinkles no matter how tight I tried to stretch it. The jeans, well I wear cargos not jeans so have none to sacrifice. I bought a 6x9 foot canvas drop cloth from Home Depot; is this the correct type of canvas? It seems fairly tightly woven and heavy. I plan to cut it down into smaller pieces and somehow attach it to some plywood ware boards. I also plan to set aside a bigger piece to clamp to my butcher block work table so I can hand roll out my clay. I haven't tried it out yet though. I priced canvas on some pottery supply websites and they want way too much but maybe I have to buy this special canvas to get good results hand rolling?

I have no idea what you are "supposed" to use but I went to an awning and canvas store and got heavy duty canvas. It cost $21 for a 4 foot end cut off. You want something that is strong and durable, especially if it will get a lot of traffic from students.. I made a plaster slab table and covered it with my canvas. it helped to soak the canvas and stretch it while wet. I staple gunned it to the wood frame. . . Maybe someone else will know how well the drop canvas will work.

I just used basic drop cloth painting canvases for my classroom. They resist enough of the wet clay, to make clean up on the tables easier.

The first school I taught at, had a type, that were a bit stiffer, because they had some type of coating on the back, that made them very resistant to the clay soaking through.