White raised bumps after glaze firing

k77

This is my first time posting here.  I would so appreciate some input. 

I have been firing using my own electric kiln for a few months now and have been having problems with pin holing.  I've previously used witness cones to verify the temperature of the kiln (I found it does fire hot and have taken that into account), I have slowed down my bisque firing and separately added a hold and slow cooling.  In short, I've tried to follow the advice I've read on this and other forums and despite using various new firing schedules, haven't fully resolved the issue (though it is a little better).   

Today I have a new issue.  A bunch of plates that came out of the kiln are covered in raised white bumps.  Is this pin holing? Or something else?  

For these plates I used Witgert white stoneware clay with 25% fine grog : https://auxcouleursdargiles.be/terres-blanches/1751-witgert-11-sf-blanche-2502-10-kg-4250536100804.html

I glazed using Mayco Stroke and Coat Seabreeze (3 coats applied by brush)

My bisque firing schedule is 60 ph to 200, 100 ph to 700 then 40 per hour to 980. 

My glaze firing schedule is 250 ph to 1160, then 100 per hour to 1260 with a drop to 1160 and a ten minute hold. 

The pots were quickly rinsed in water the day before firing (as they came out of the kiln) and were lightly wiped with a sponge immediately before applying the glaze. 

Can I save these by sanding and refiring at a lower temperature? 

Thanks so much in advance for any input you might be able to offer. 

K

IMG_3920 copy.jpg

Hi K,

Welcome to the Forum!

Edit/Add: the spots are not craters, they are bumps/lumps!
Scroll down to agglomeration...

Are the white spots "craters" - where the center of the spot is bare clay?
If so, could be that there are particles in the clay that are off-gassing.

Helpful in clearing up fine bubbles (fizzing), cratering, and pinholes:
  Adjusting peak glaze fire temp
  Drop and hold after peak