(not) drying problems

There's been a changing of the guard at the studio where I've been working, which is mostly a good thing, but there have been some perhaps unintended consequences.  A whole lot of studio equipment has gone totally AWOL, including nearly all the ware boards, a lot of tools and misc items, which is one issue - but worse, the clay body has changed significantly.  I don't know exactly what's going on but it is a lot wetter, nearly always seems short (though I'm no expert), and I have not been able to get a single item off the bat at the end of a 3 hour wheel session yet.  It was worse a few weeks ago but its still not "normal".  The person who used to do most of the work ordering and mixing isn't doing it any more (he wasn't getting paid for it, the person who WAS getting paid for it just didn't do it).  Also the new guy (replaced the retiring studio manager) ordered material from a different supplier because he didn't like the usual supplier's website.  So I'm guessing the confluence of a new person doing the work and perhaps subtly (perhaps not) different materials is at work, but I have to come up with a way to compensate in the meantime.  Keep in mind - few to no ware boards means we have been told to leave things on the (blue plastic) bats, and the wet possibly short clay is not drying well, or at all it seems sometimes, that way.  With the old clay body I could lift most things off the bat by the end of a 3 hour wheel session, except sometimes for the last thing I threw, and I could always get that off by the next day.  With the new clay body, even if we had ware boards, I have not been able to lift a single thing off sometimes even after TWO days and 5 or 6 hours uncovered.  The stuff acts weird (cracking, warping on the plastic bats we have to use as ware boards since the actual ware boards are mostly gone, sticking to said bat--wareboards, slumping/collapsing as its being extruded, etc) even for hand building.