warping plates

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the forum.  I have been doing ceramics for many years but recently making a lot of flat dishes and plates, mainly with plaster hump molds. I am using Clay Planet Venus White clay fired to Cone 6. Recently having lots of frustration with warping. I handle my slabs as little as possible before I put it on the mold, and dry my pieces slowly under plastic.  I can't dry these upside down, because they have scalloped edge treatment. Is there a better clay body that would warp less?  Am I firing too fast? My bisque firing takes about 8 hours, and glaze firing takes about 9.5 hours.

Any assistance is appreciated!

warped-blue-mandala-plate-bottom-w.jpg

warped-blue-mandala-plate-w.jpg

warped-plate-w.jpg

I cannoit speak to the better cone 5 clay bodies as it not a temp of clay I use. That said if you move your foot out more you will have far less slumping. Its to much in the center to support that overhang . This alone may cure the slumping issue. 

Try a larger diameter foot

2 hours ago, neilestrick said:

If they're flattening out in the glaze firing, that is a slumping problem, not a warping problem. The clay is getting soft and gravity is pulling it down. A wider foot would help.

They are not flattening, just warping. I appreciate that so far 3/3 responses recommend a wider foot! Will definitely try that. I think I also need to wrap the edges when I am drying. Thank you!

don't want to harp on my comments but i really believe that when folks start making pottery they hear "make slabs at leas 1/4 inch thick" and they never go any thinner.  look at commercial china and see how a normal plate has been designed and made.   ignore Pfaltzgraf  or however it is spelled.    heavy plates stay in the cupboard or go to thrift shops.   heavy is not good, thick is heavy,   you are working with heavy things and it is just harder on your body.