Clay Horse's Finish or Silicon Mould

Hello,

I'm totally new to ceramics, but I have this problem I'm not sure how to solve. I want to finish these horses and glaze them, but I also want to take a silicon mould from them so I can make new clay horses. 

I've read about this online and I think one method is to take a mould the way they are now ( I also need to fix them) and then use that silicon mould to make plaster cast and then once I have that cast create a plaster mould so I can use slip porcelain. 

But if I do that I heard that the mould release will be on the surface of the clay and I won't be able to then glaze those ceramics and they will be left unglazed. I really want to continue this project and I don't want to have to sculpt the horses again.

So if you can let me know what you think is best then please let me know! 

Attached is the photo of the two horses. 

https://imgur.com/a/TcIRuJ7

I suspect you are under-estimating the difficulties of making a slip-casting mould for a shape like a horse.

It will have to be a multi-part mould, and probably with a lot of parts. I've never tried anything like that, but it could easily be:
- 6 parts or so to handle the legs [1]
- at least another 2 for the back, neck, mane  and head
- probably another 1 or 2 more for the ears
- maybe another 1 or 2 for the tail

Not a task to be undertaken lightly. Which is why some horse modellers don't even try.

Maybe I really can DO this! https://westerlydesign.com/2009/07/02/maybe-i-really-can-do-this/

The Caprice horse sculpture has 9 separate molds. ... There are separate little square multi-part plaster molds for the head, each ear, all 4 legs, the main body, and the tail. Some molds have just 2 parts and some have several. Caprice’s body has 4 mold pieces you pull away from the cast greenware part.

capgreenwwetbox1.jpg?w=300

capgreenw61.jpg

Not ideal (needs some skilled per-horse assembly), but makes the mould making and use a whole lot easier.