Hi Im very new to pottery and watch this forum closely for tips and techniques. I look constantly on the internet for pottery information. I took a beginners class in march and now have joined a pottery group. Ive been learning thru watching other potters..asking tons of questions and trial and error. I was wondering if you could give a beginner one piece of advice what would it be? Also, is there other pottery sites you visit? (nothing wrong with this one...just like to look around)

Thanks!

patti

Guest LGHT

I would suggest investing in a several books and use you tube for visual learning tips. I have only been working a little over a year in clay and the first thing I did was buy several used how to books from ebay / amazon. The books where only a few bucks and although the info was somewhat basic it was very helpful in understand concepts and techniques. This combined with several "how to" videos on you tube. It's amazing how much the basic understanding and concepts have helped me get going on the wheel. I still see other students struggling with centering, and throwing basic shapes because they don't understand nor have good concept of the fundamentals on the wheel.

No pot is precious until it comes out of the final firing intact and beautiful.

Every pot is a process, an experiment. Don't be afraid to throw a wet pot in the recycle bucket and just start over... very often, you can throw a new pot in less time than you'll spend coaxing and fiddling with that "pot gone wrong", just to have it collapse and end up in the bucket anyway.