Flesh tones, underglaze? Two questions

I'm sculpting in porcelain and having a hard time with Caucasian flesh tones using underglaze, especially gradations. I want some color on cheeks but can't seem to figure how to add it to the layer of basic flesh tone. If I try for a transparent watered down 'blush' it's of course very runny and blends poorly; if I mix a range of tones it also fails to blend nicely.  I've tried dabbing and sponging as well as blending with brush, smoothing with my finger... no good!

Also, if any of you are doing figures/heads, what underglaze colors do you mix for skin tones?  I'm usually looking for a quiet, pretty pale, even start.  And also for those delicate flush colors.  I'm a better sculptor than painter  sigh.

Good question!

Perhaps a few sessions of test tiles would help, and an airbrush (or atomizer powered by blowing) for adding layers of very small droplets?

Perhaps #2, forum members who have had some success with colour gradients/blending will share their experiences...

are you painting two separate colors?   you can mix underglaze so you have only one color at a time to paint on the clay.  not limiting to only one color, you can have the original colors and the blended colors.   would that help?

Yeah, the flesh I'm making now is a 4 color blend (still not thrilled) and the color I want for those highlights is a just that with a bit of red and coral. Maybe mixing a lot of gradations in that handy ice cube tray would be the best way.

Shading delicately is tricky too, for the same reason - some people do that with an underglaze pencil.  Hmm - if those can be smudged with a finger that might work, on bisqued  underglaze.