Thermocouple

I'm a total novice where kilns are concerned so you're going to have to be patient with me...

I recently got my first kiln (Arterial Engineering Works Ltd. 1AS 1 phase - front loader) with an Ipco 3300 controller.

The controller is showing the 'open' error message. 

I believe this is an error concerning the thermocouple. If so, would any replacement thermocouple do or do I need to find something specifically for my kiln model?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks 

You'll need whichever type of thermocouple the controller is set up for- type K, R, S, etc. Do you have a manual for the controller that says what type to use? Easiest thing would be to contact the manufacturer and get it from them, if they're still around. You could also post a pic of it here and we may be able to help identify it. Plus not all thermocouples of each type or acceptable. For instance, the little thin type K they sell on Amazon are not good for kilns, but other type K are fine.

I haven't been able to get in touch with the manufacturer so far.

I know the thermocouple is 12" in length and have found something I believe is similar online: https://www.bathpotters.co.uk/type-r-thermocouple-with-cable-and-plug

What difference do the various types (K, R, S etc.) make?

Sorry, I really am new to this kiln business :huh:

Here is the damaged thermocouple:

20210803_201133thermo1.jpg.ae834d2d1f2bd7471c2432490a943934.jpg

Thank you!

Hi @Ceramics.np.04  I'm assuming you are in the UK ?

I was in a similar position 2 years ago.  Same type of error with a Stafford controller.  When we removed the thermocouple it was broken, but still working sometimes!

I did a lot of research into replacements.  The kiln companies either couldn't supply, or wanted stupid money, so I bought from Peak Sensors.  I think I sent them a photo of the offending part.  (It was 2.5 years ago, and I've slept since then!)

On 8/4/2021 at 2:56 PM, Ceramics.np.04 said: