Hello everyone!

I've just finished a firing of vases, all went well but my glazes aren't what I'd hoped for in exterior colour.

I've had flowers with water in a few of them recently, and oddly on the base of them after a few hours is a damp ring/the base is damp.I

I poured transparent on the inside and the clay is Scarva Earthstone Terracotta Crank E/S65.

Do you think the transparent was too thin and is letting water though? My vases are made well, all sealed and simple in shape. So all I can think of is the glaze thickness being an issue?

I'm very new to glazing, it's definitely an area that I'm very cautious around but I'm saving up to go on a glaze course soon.

Any help would be so appreciated! Thank you all!

31 minutes ago, neilestrick said:

I just get blank pages whenever I try to look at their clays, the search function never shows anything but tools, and links just go to their main page.

I don’t think it ever worked for me under IOS and when I use Microsoft edge I get a message that it does not ship to the US. Change your country of Origin to Canada for instance and the search function appears to work and display the basic clay properties. The country setting is the flag, four Icons to the left of the right-most top margin icons I believe.

Hi @Iona Green

As @Babssays, it's probably underfired.  UK clay often is quoted with too large a firing range, which is really unhelpful.  Clay needs to be fired to almost/at the highest quoted temperatures for it to vitrify.

Even with a good coat of glaze on all surfaces, some combinations will leak when fired too low.

What temperature/cone did you bisque fore?

What temperature /cone did you glaze fire?  (I'm assuming you didn't single-fire.)

12 hours ago, Bill Kielb said: