Unglazed ceramics - how to fire?

Hi All! I'm a beginner out there and have been working on a stoneware vessels using PSH stoneware 519S clay body firing at cone 6. I wanted to keep the vessels unglazed as they won't be holding water etc and I work really hard on creating a silky texture. They all survived the bisque firing no cracks etc but on the second glaze (high temperature) they have all cracked - incredibly disappointing! If the intention is to keep them unglazed what is the best method of firing to vitrify the clay as I can't leave it in it's bisque format? Firing once at a high temperature (no bisque firing), firing twice at  a lower temperature? Really need some help on this one so it doesn't happen again?

Hi and welcome!

So, if these pieces aren’t going to be glazed, why the need to fire them twice? Is there a decorating process in between the two firings that doesn’t involve glaze?

If you only want to once fire them, you would normally just start off the firing as you would for a bisque (slow), and expect it to be longer than a typical glaze fire to top temperature because of that. 

Knowing how the pieces were made, or what the pieces even are would help with diagnosing what when wrong. 

Thank you all for your response - much appreciated! I've attached some photos of the cracks - these were in areas that there weren't even hairline cracks previously from the bisque firing or areas where I wasn't aware of stress/or that I patched in the making process. The color was dirty almost too, supposed to be ivory but ended up being greyish tinged in some parts and there were lots of banding marks too that weren't visible on the first firing.

How would you recommend firing them once (what cone) and no there isn't any added decoration etc between firings? Any thoughts on what happened here?IMG_7919.jpg.27c9f5963a4e5e1bb14764995cc7b480.jpgIMG_7918.jpg.2b6e922d5ddca939816314c504bdb6ac.jpgIMG_7917.jpg.ddfc32aab5b06d4581bab5e55f0db1c5.jpg