Bitter aftertaste from mugs

Hi, quick introduction, I've just thrown myself into the ceramics world (fairly late) and trying to make as many mistakes as possible, as quick as possible. I suspect this may prove to be one of them, I just can't get to the bottom of it and would appreciate a few pointers.

In short I'm throwing with a stoneware clay and made myself quite a few perfectly serviceable mugs, or so I thought. The problem is I'm getting a bitter metallic aftertaste everytime I try them.

I bisqued and then fired to 1245°c cone 7? (Turned out it was more like 8 according to my cones) in a shared electric kiln. The glaze inside the mugs was an unbranded lead free (just add water type) from a local supplier. This particular problem happened in 2 glaze firings I did so I thought I'd change the glaze on the inside of my next batch to rule that out. I bought a ready mixed Botz food safe, brush on job but I still get the taste.

Now, being a newbie I couldn't wait to get some oxides and start throwing them at my pots, and this I'm thinking could be the source of my error. In all 3 glaze firings I had decorated some of the outside of the pots with a copper oxide slip, in various quantities, sometimes it was just one or 2 examples, another kiln had pretty much everything decorated with it.

Obviously the copper oxide had boiled through the glaze and I hasten to add I hadn't used it on the inside and sparingly on the outside of the mugs. It was mostly on other items in kiln where it boiled most.

I've tried testing the glaze with lemon juice and it seems stable enough. As far as I can see it's been fired high enough so now I'm thinking that the copper has in some way fumed the kiln to such a degree that it's condensed onto the pots and contaminated everything, is this possible?

I've scrubbed, soaked, scrubbed again and still the taste persists. At this rate they may all end up as plant pots or meet the quality control hammer.