What To Look For When Buying a Used Kiln?

Hi Everyone!!, I am a beginner Potter and I have finally reached the point (and saved enough) to buy myself a used kiln. I honestly don't really know what I should be looking for to feel confident about buying a kiln that works and that won't be a money pit..... any suggestions on the key things I should pay attention to? any questions I should ask the seller?

I am currently looking at a Cress automatic kiln model E23, it is being sold at $450 and the seller says it works great..... this would be great for me as a starting kiln (size, price and specs) but I don't know what I should be looking at to know that it is in good shape beyond the obvious.

Thank you for your help and advice!! ^_^

Meli from NC

Hi Everyone!!, I am a beginner Potter and I have finally reached the point (and saved enough) to buy myself a used kiln. I honestly don't really know what I should be looking for to feel confident about buying a kiln that works and that won't be a money pit..... any suggestions on the key things I should pay attention to? any questions I should ask the seller?

I am currently looking at a Cress automatic kiln model E23, it is being sold at $450 and the seller says it works great..... this would be great for me as a starting kiln (size, price and specs) but I don't know what I should be looking at to know that it is in good shape beyond the obvious.

Thank you for your help and advice!! ^_^

Meli from NC

The condition of the firebricks indicates how the kiln was cared for. Look especially at the inner lid surface and the top row of wall bricks. cracks here and there are nothing to worry about, however.

Extensive rust is a sign of heavy use.

Here is an article on buying used kilns:

http://www.paragonwe...nter.cfm?PID=45

The seller SAYS it works great. . .

Have him/her turn it on high (empty) and wait a few (10-15) minutes, then open the lid and look at the elements. ALL should be glowing, preferably bright red.