A total newb question about trimming ....

I tend to enjoy throwing small mouth vases and skinny neck bottles but I am having the darnedest time trouble shooting how to trim them. (Still, I realize I probably posted this question over 5 years ago) 

I don’t have a Giffen grip. 

I have thrown chucks but when using wet (I allow them to set up for a bit) they tend to leave marks of clay where the pot rests on them.  I have also tried putting plastic on the wet chucks so they don’t leave marks but then the piece slides around.

when I bisque a chuck, I attempt to use wads to keep the piece centered and clay wads don’t seem to stick well when I use a bisqued chuck. 

I know I’m probably doing something super obvious but I can’t seem to figure it out. 

please help me figure this out. I have been altering my throwing to make the bottoms thin and pre trim freshly thrown pieces on the wheel head before removing them. But I would like to be able to trim more sometimes. 

Edited by Rebekah Krieger
Spelling correction

I try to trim a small mouth bottle as much as possible right after throwing it, when the bottle is still right side up and attached to its batt, using a Dolan 120 tool.

https://www.baileypottery.com/c-096-120.html

Then I finish trimming when leather hard on a bisqued chuck. I don’t use clay wads, I just work gently and slowly, and re-center the pot every time I knock it off center. But there’s usually very little trimming to do. 

One way you have not tried is wet the wheel head and center the vase back onto wheel head . It will stick down with a damp surface. Then once centered (tap centering really helps )but one can do it other ways. Now its easy to trim the vase (except for very bottom). I do this on say a large pitcher  with a spout as long as my bottom is not thick.

The bisqued collars work as well. Maybe you are trimming to wet if they are getting marked up?

Edited by Mark C.