Plates with foot or footless?

Hello! Hope you all are doing great! I'm a new potter only 3yrs experience(self taught), and I've always wondered..  is there a technical reason why we need foot on our plates?..  does it prevent warping or something like that?

thanks!

Hi Titi!

Plus:

limit unglazed portion to just the ring - the rest of the underside glazed, hence stronger, easier to clean, etc.

limit contact surface - easier to make flat (so the pot doesn't rock) and easier to make smooth (so the pot doesn't scratch surfaces)

provides a place for fingers to catch - easier to handle

allows for precise thickness - better balance, lighter, closer match to the rest of the pot, etc.

looks cool

cut away the least conditioned part of the pot, the layer against the wheel head (or bat) is most likely to start cracking (per above)

increase durability - ring provides mass and structure at the base, where impacts are likely

Minus:

takes time to cut foot rings

takes more time to glaze

generates trimmings

Other:

plates are a special case, bein' flat an' all...

Other other:

We've had a week of rain and wind here!

If you don't put a foot on them you can get what I call spinners.  The middle of the plate end up being lower than the edges.  This is also a problem of drying but a foot ring gets rid of the  problem altogether.  Lin

46 minutes ago, LinR said:

If you don't put a foot on them you can get what I call spinners.  The middle of the plate end up being lower than the edges.  This is also a problem of drying but a foot ring gets rid of the  problem altogether.  Lin

Yep! that has happened! haha I thought the reason could be that the plate was a bit thin... and do you recommend a minimum size of how much tall the ring should be?

Thanks!

22 minutes ago, oldlady said: