outdoor fairs and festivals 2021

Hello all,

This is probably the worst time to ask such a question (with the virus situation), but bad timing has never stopped me before :) I'm trying to line up  participation in a few outdoor fairs/festival for the upcoming year, and I'm completely new to the process. I specify outdoor because I imagine they're not as "high brow" plus less likely to cancel due to covid.  My work has been juried into  an artisan group in WV, but that's my only outlet for sales...I'm planning to make it available on my website in the spring. Thing is, I'd much rather line up a few road trips and try my luck at that. The amount of shows will depend totally on how much work I can get finished in the next couple of months.  I've taken part in many juried exhibitions and shown my 2D and 3D work in many places, but this is all new to me.

Back to my questions...I'm currently living in southern OH and would like to take part in upcoming outdoor fairs/festivals in the eastern half of US. What/where are the best resources for finding upcoming shows? I've come across a few sites that are quite helpful, what would you recommend? Any specific shows worth mentioning?

I'm preparing images for jurying/application process, display/booth type material for the wares, packing and transport, etc. What are the obvious things I'm overlooking? I'm not looking to "make it rich", just want to familiarize myself with the process and see if I could possibly make it profitable in the future. I understand this is a very broad set of questions, but I'm trying get some direction. Any info, advice, sharing is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks and sorry for the marathon post,

Anthony

Start with small/cheap/local shows. Get your bearings in terms of logistics before you invest in anything more expensive, money-wise or time-wise. A lot of people decide that art fairs are not for them during this phase, so figure that out for yourself before you go any further.