Question about Kiln heating/cone temps

Hello! I have a question regarding what cones my kiln is able to fire to. I’m using a manual skutt 1227 that hasn’t been used in approximately 4yrs. I am a school teacher and have been told this kiln has been at the school since 1996. 

I have successfully fired the kiln up to cone 04 with low fire clay and glazes. Today I tried to fire some cone 6 clay/glazes, but after about 9.5 hrs on high the kiln still had not reached cone 6 temps. Could this be a problem of needing new elements? Or something more complex? 

Edited by RebeccaGood

• RebeccaGood changed the title to Question about Kiln heating/cone temps

Welcome to the ceramics zoo, glad to have you join us.

We need a bit more information about the electrical specifications of the kiln. These should be on a metal plate attached to the front of the control column, usually near the kiln sitter. Specifically, what is the rated voltage and phase of the kiln? For voltage, there are 2 possibilities - 208 volts and 240 volts. For the phase, again 2 possibilities - single phase (probably shown as 1 PH) and three-phase (probably shown as 3 PH). There will also be numbers for the wattage and amperage, but the voltage and phase will tell us enough to start.

(Just to jump to the worst case scenario, if it is 208 volts single phase, it is rated to a maximum of cone 5, thus cone 6 is out of range. For the other 3 possible combinations of voltage and phase, the kiln is rated to cone 8, but cone 6 is the best it will do in the long term, and after awhile it won't do that unless you replace the elements).

6 minutes ago, Dick White said:

Welcome to the ceramics zoo, glad to have you join us.