Sign in to follow this  
knitterpotter

Buying a used kiln

Hi, I am going to look at a used kiln tomorrow to set up in my basement for a home studio at some point. I have been making pottery for many years in classes and would like to do it from home. It is an electric L&L Econo Kiln with shelves and furniture. The overall height of the kiln is 37" and it is 35" at the widest part (where the control units are) It is made up of a 5" stand, a 2" botttom and 2" lid and three 9" rings that are 23" in diameter. The seller bought it from someone else a few years ago so it has been moved a few times. She believes the kiln is between 20 and 25 years old. The pictures look like the kiln is in excellent condition although she said there is one cracked shelf. She is asking $450 but I am going to negotiate with her and hope she will take less. My concern in reading about used kilns is if the kiln is that old and lead glazes were used, is the kiln contaminated? Any thoughts on that and any anything else would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for your input.

Lana

We looked at the kiln today. It was much smaller than I expected even tho I was given the dimensions. The kiln was made in 1983 according to the serial number so it is 30 years old. It surprisingly passed the lead test we took with us and did look in pretty good condition. I offered $350 for the kiln but she would not accept and I was very reluctant to go higher than that. I would not be happy with the small kiln anyway so will hold out since I am not in a hurry. Thank you to everyone who commented. You were extremely helpful.

Lana

Guest JBaymore

The lead issue is easy to test for....... get a lead test kit from any good hardware store. Swab the brickwork interior hot-face surface somewher near the elements in the upper third of the inside chamber. If it comes up positive.... pass.