L&L JD18

PCHPottery

I have a L&L JD 18 240-1 that I purchased new in 2002.  Shortly after purchasing, my pottery life took a long hiatus.  It's only been fired just over 30 times, a mix of bisque and glaze firings. I've recently gotten back into pottery and have been experiencing ongoing issues with reaching temperature at cones 5 and 6.  The thermocouples have been replaced and are type K with the open ceramic sleeves that extend past the metal portion. I have a TCOS of 35 degrees F to account for the ceramic tube.  I did this Based on advice from L&L tech support  after over firing based on Orton cones without the offset. I've put in new L&L  elements and replaced the Dynatrol with a Genesis 2.0 controller.  The firing information coming from the Genesis has been great. I can now see that part of  the problem is that the kiln is struggling to climb more than 65 degrees per hour during the last ramp section of a fast fire ^6 program. This cone 6 firing with the 35 degree offset produced Orton ^7 touching the shelf with glazes running.  When I adjust the TCOS to achieve an Orton ^6, the offset is 55 degrees but the glaze is underfired.  I'm assuming this is due to ^6 being achieved through heat work at the end of the firing instead of final temperature.  Will this kiln not be able to climb the 108 degrees per hour at the end? Is  it due to not having 3" brick? I've attached the firing file for a better description than I'm able to provide. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

kiln firing graph ^6 Dec 12 2020.pdf

What does the serial plate say the max temp is? There's no reason that kiln should struggle if everything is working properly and it's a cone 10 kiln like the newer models. Make sure the elements are installed properly (series vs parallel), check your service voltage, check that the wiring is correct. Get a meter and check element resistance and amperage draw. Something's not right.