Using Stains mixed only with water

AdamFG

Hi All, 

Continuing on with my adventure of being "self taught"... I have another question:D

I have some lovely coloured stain powders and I really like how they've gone onto bisqueware.

I've just mixed them with water... however when I've glazed the pieces with clear glaze,  the items have all suffered with crawling. As I understand it, i'll need to add some grit to the stain to stop this. 

However, I'm wondering if I apply the stain (just mixed with water) onto bisque ware and fire to 1000.c then apply a clear glaze and fire again will this remove the need to add frit?

Stains are being applied to Earthenware which fires to 1080c and Stoneware which fires to 1220-1240c

I'll be making an order for some more supplies on Monday so I can get any additives (for want of a better word) suggested, but the delivery times here are nuts due to Covid and Christmas so it may be a couple of weeks :mellow:

I know the answer will be "run a test", which I plan to do but I was wondering if anyone had any anecdotal advice / experience with using stains like this?

Thanks again!

Adam   

2 hours ago, AdamFG said:

I've just mixed them with water... however when I've glazed the pieces with clear glaze,  the items have all suffered with crawling. As I understand it, i'll need to add some grit to the stain to stop this. 

However, I'm wondering if I apply the stain (just mixed with water) onto bisque ware and fire to 1000.c then apply a clear glaze and fire again will this remove the need to add frit?

Isn't paragraph 2 questioning if paragraph 1 works?

Some clears may have enough flux to work.

Stains are quite refractory, too much in my Local Clay Glaze and they don't melt properly.

Sorce

If you want the simplest and easiest homemade underglaze recipe, mix your stain with equal parts of EPK and frit. So that’s a 1:1:1 ratio.  Bonus points if the frit you’re using is also one of the fluxes in your glaze, but it will all work.