Pugged Clay Storage?

Hello everyone,

Great community and thank you to the moderators! I am new to the pugging game and working my way into production pottery... I looking for tips on storage and how long the clay is viable for throwing after pugging without having to wedge or re-pug? I generally use either Laguna Speckled Buff or B-mix cone-5/6. Thanks in advance for your comments.

Edited by Stumonster Clayworks
spelling

If you use a good thick plastic bag to store it, it should keep for 9 months to a year. Most clay companies guarantee theirs for 1 year from the mixing date. I will say, though, that since clay companies stopped using twist-ties on their bags, it doesn't keep as long. So seal it up tight, whatever you do.

Laguna still uses twist ties, but their bags are unpredictable. I am wondering... I have a rather large wetbox (plaster on bottom) that I use for storing handles... Would this work for the pug logs or would it get too gooey because of the extra humidity? I live in the desert in AZ so I have to pour in a half cup of water every month. 

20 minutes ago, Stumonster Clayworks said:

Laguna still uses twist ties, but their bags are unpredictable. I am wondering... I have a rather large wetbox (plaster on bottom) that I use for storing handles... Would this work for the pug logs or would it get too gooey because of the extra humidity? I live in the desert in AZ so I have to pour in a half cup of water every month. 

I keep my reclaim that needs wedging in plaster boxes and it keeps fine as long as it doesn't puddle too bad.

But that doesn't seem like it would be a large enough container to keep much clay in.  Do you have any old clay bags you can use? Or painters plastic you can wrap it in?  

If I had a pugmill I'd probably just pug what I need for the day ahead of time and keep it on plastic.  I buy the 4 mil painters plastic roll of drop cloth and reuse it indefinitely. 

1 hour ago, neilestrick said: