Glaze not adhering to Underglaze

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to glazing pottery, and have just unloaded a kiln full of pieces I had painted with underglaze, and applied a clear glaze over. Some pieces had been bisque fired with the underglaze already painted, and others were painted onto bisqueware, but all seem to have the same problem of the glaze avoiding areas where the underglaze is. In some places it has caused the underglaze to chip off, but mostly it's just all very rough feeling and patchy looking.

There are a few pieces where the rough patches are a bit annoying but not too bad, but the majority have deemed the pieces unusable :-( 

I used the Amaco velvet underglazes, and a clear glaze from Scarva. The glaze required the kiln to be fired to a pretty high temperature - cone 1 at about 1137 celsius - so I'm wondering if this is the issue or if I've done something else wrong. I'm looking into finding a different lower firing clear glaze but am worried the same might happen again - and I would rather not attempt making my own glazes as I'm not experienced enough - so any recommendations would be much appreciated! 

I'll try to attach some photos to explain better what I'm talking about (might have to be in another post).

Thanks!

Amber :-)

1. white/red plant pot - clear glaze only visible in patches around the pot, rough, bisque-like texture all over 

2. spotty mug - clear glaze not adhered to majority of underglaze spots

3. large spots pink handle - underglaze cracked off in places, patchy clear glaze over underglazed sections

4. rim of blue/green mug - clear glaze fine over most of the mug, except for the rim where it is still a rough texture

5. spotty bowl - clear glaze not adhered to majority of underglazed areas

IMG_2471.JPG

IMG_2472.JPG

IMG_2473.JPG

IMG_2474.JPG

IMG_2475.JPG

I'd guess just too little clear, as is a usual beginning problem, it just looks different with clear.